A budding African academic… oh the frustrations!

Blog post #6? SMH. If this blog were to be my child, Social Services would have taken her away from me by now for neglect. It’s funny because I’ve always had an excuse for not blogging (you’ll see from previous posts) but today I’ve decided to blog about my excuse not to blog. The excuse? For the past few months I’ve been working on writing my first scientific research article and boy is it knocking the wind out of me! It’s a summary of the research I’ve been doing while in school for the past 3 years and  it’s geared towards bringing low-tech renewable energy to rural African communities. It was an opportunity I couldn’t pass up and I must say I’m proud of my work so far. (I must mention that this research didn’t contribute toward my degree. I’ve been told this should have been my master’s thesis… hopefully my writing makes some heads turn and bring progress to the continent.

And at the end of the day that’s the real purpose for which we suffer… to create real change and address human needs. And that’s where the frustrations come in. Because we Africans know that no one can tell our story and meet our needs like we can ourselves and I’ve got to stick to that as I write. Being mentored by a non-African professor, it’s a great challenge for me to keep my perspective as local as possible without breaching the professional code of scientific writing. We go back and forth but I’m determined to push more world-class research from Africa into the atmosphere and so I push no matter what.

In addition to my scientific writing, I just relocated from Washington, DC to Accra. I’ve gotten a lot of criticism and pessimism about this move but events are already proving fruitful. I’ve within the past  two weeks attended Barcamp Kumasi and TEDxAccra. Posts on the outcomes of those events will follow soon. As a woman seeking to be an academic of relevance addressing environmental issues with the technology that abounds, I feel the need to be on the ground to create solutions that not only work but that will last and that the everyday Ghanaian/African can relate to. So many people get advanced degrees, lecture, sit in offices and yet our lives remain the same. No matter where I end up, no matter where I pursue my advanced degrees, my priority is to always remain RELEVANT.  And so another phase begins…. Stay tuned for the excitement and unfolding revelations!

(Credit goes to Gene Essel (Kwame Amoako) for the photo. Please support)

About The Green Ghanaian Intiative

Akua Akyaa Nkrumah is a Ghanaian environmental technologist based in Accra, Ghana. She studied Environmental Science and Technology at the University of Maryland - College Park. She currently works as a consultant for environment and climate change in Accra and has a passion for water, sanitation, recycling and renewable energy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A budding African academic… oh the frustrations!

  1. nana says:

    I can’t wait for the excitement and unfolding revelations. Bring them on!

    Like

  2. Nkulumo says:

    Sounds very heartfelt and sencere. Someone give this woman what she needs already…she is gonna take it anyway. haha. Love the post.

    Like

  3. jkehinson says:

    Having scanned several of your articles – I can’t help but tell you how excited I am to find intellectual Ghanaians such as yourself writing …. time to share you with the world.

    Like

    • I’m humbled by your comment. Thank you very much for the encouragement. I will do my best to keep them coming and hope we can stir up a vibrant consciousness towards our environment and country development as a whole

      Like

  4. KWASI OBUOBI says:

    kudos Akua this is my first time seeing your work on the net in fact am interesting joining you in the crusade so let me have ur contact so we can meet. Hon Obuobi Electrical Engineer

    Like

  5. I can be reached at green.ghanaian@gmail.com. Feel free to contact me and let us know your interests. Thanks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

